Twenty Seconds of Insane Courage

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

~Benjamin Mee, We Bought a Zoo

 

In this movie,we bought a zoo,in a scene the father tells his children how he met her mother for the first time. He was walking down the street and saw her inside a coffee shop. Now, he had two options, to walk straight or to go inside the shop and tell the lady that he thinks she’s beautiful. Now, he thought about twenty seconds of courage and walked up to her and said –

“Why would an amazing woman like you even talk to someone like me?”

And she said –

Why not?

(Note that ‘why not’ is in bold)

 

So as the quote at the top says, all you need is twenty seconds of courage for making a decision and doing it. Yes, it will be embarrassing but it will lead to good results. Some real examples of this are :

 

One day, at the coaching classes for competitive exams, my maths sir solved a problem that I couldn’t understand. I looked at the whole class and everyone’s faces looked satisfied as if they understood it all. Was I the only one who didn’t understand? Now, I had a choice  either to go with the flow or ask the prof to explain it again. I decided to ask him and said –

“Sir I didn’t understand it after the integration part, can you explain it again?”

He stared wickedly and the whole class started laughing at me. Then he, asked the topper of our batch to explain it, and he said that he also didn’t understand it completely, in fact, no one did. Prof explained the solution again briefly.

 

One of my close friends in college liked a girl. He had a choice, to say it to her or not. He decided to say it, went to her one evening and said that he liked her. The girl straight away said she wasn’t interested in relationships, this disappointed him.

(Don’t jump to conclusions yet)

Now, after a year, they are together. So eventually that decision did helped him.

(I am so jealous of their instagram pics by the way)

 

Since the ban of Rs. 500 and Rs. 1000 notes in India, there is a huge rush at ATMs to withdraw new notes. I, yesterday was standing in a long queue to withdraw cash from ATM at my college. There was a teacher who was using more than one card to withdraw money, but then there wouldn’t be enough money left for everyone else standing in the queue. So, we had a choice either to let him take more money and us probably returning empty handed just because he’s a teacher or ask him to use only one card. Then a student went to him and said –

“Sir, don’t take out money from more than one card as everyone here needs money”

The teacher listened and only used one card to withdraw cash.

 

So, twenty seconds of courage is all we need.

By the way I have changed my tinder bio to –

“Why would an amazing woman like you even swipe right to someone like me?”

Hope it works. Lol.

I recently watched a video in which entrepreneur Varun Agarwal talks about how to overcome fear. It inspired me to write this post. Here’s the link of the video –

How to overcome fear?

Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Twenty Seconds of Insane Courage

Leave a Reply

